Manage My Care – frequently asked questions (FAQs)

Download the frequently asked questions (PDF 182KB)

Who can use Manage My Care?

Anyone with a valid email address can create a Manage My Care account. However, making an account is only the first step. Before you can view any patient information in Manage My Care, you will need to add a patient to your account.

If you are a patient over the age of 16 or are the Next of Kin for a patient, you may be able to add a patient to your account. This involves linking a WA Health patient record to your Manage My Care account and requires that you can provide the necessary details to verify that you are authorised to see the patient information.

Why can't I add a patient?

There are some reasons why a patient cannot be added to a Manage My Care account, these may include:

  • the information you have entered does not match the patient’s hospital record (e.g. name, UR number)
  • you are not listed as a Next of Kin on the patient’s record
  • you are not listed as one of the specific Next of Kin allowed to add a patient under the age of 16
  • the patient does not give their permission for you to view their outpatient information using Manage My Care
  • there are special circumstances surrounding the patient’s record.
Which appointments can I see?

Use Manage My Care to see outpatient appointments and referrals at any of the following public metropolitan hospitals:

  • Armadale Health Service
  • Bentley Hospital
  • Fiona Stanley Hospital
  • Fremantle Hospital
  • Kalamunda Hospital
  • King Edward Memorial Hospital
  • Mandurah Community Health Service
  • Murray District Hospital
  • Osborne Park Hospital
  • Perth Children's Hospital
  • Rockingham Hospital
  • Royal Perth Hospital
  • Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital.

Manage My Care is also available to see outpatient appointments and referrals at public hospitals and sites in WA regional areas statewide:

  • Goldfields
  • Great Southern
  • Kimberley
  • Midwest
  • Pilbara
  • South West
  • Wheatbelt
Why can't I see my appointment?

Before you can see any appointments in Manage My Care, you will need to add a patient to your account. If you have received an appointment letter but the appointment is not showing in Manage My Care, check that you have added the patient to your account.

If your appointment is booked too far in the future, you will not be able to see it in Manage My Care.

Once the date and time of an appointment has passed it will disappear from the appointment page of Manage My Care. You can view past appointments from the Patients page, by clicking on the Appointments tab for that patient and ticking the Show past appointments box. Note, any appointments booked before December 2019 will not display in Manage My Care.

Why has my appointment or referral disappeared?

If you have requested to reschedule an appointment or cancel a referral, it will no longer appear in Manage My Care once the request has been actioned by a staff member. If you have requested to reschedule an appointment, or the hospital has rescheduled your appointment, the new appointment may be booked too far in the future to be visible in Manage My Care. Once the date of the appointment is closer (at least 30 days away) it will become visible.

Once the date and time of an appointment has passed it will disappear from the appointment page of Manage My Care. You can view past appointments from the Patients page, by clicking on the Appointments tab and ticking the Show past appointments box. Appointments booked before December 2019 cannot be found in Manage My Care.

How can I undo a request to reschedule an appointment or discharge a referral?

If you change your mind after requesting to reschedule an appointment or cancel a referral through Manage My Care, please call the Manage My Care support line as soon as possible on 1800 517 133 (Monday to Friday, 7.30am to 5.30pm).

Please be aware that there is no guarantee your request can be cancelled, so please think carefully before submitting your request.

Why can't I see my referral?

It can take up to two weeks for a new referral to appear. If two weeks have passed since you were given your referral, you will need to contact your General Practitioner (GP) for more information. Only referrals created after December 2018 will be visible in Manage My Care. Once your outpatient care has been completed, your referral will be closed and will no longer be visible within Manage My Care.

Why has a patient disappeared from my account?

There are a few reasons why a patient may no longer be visible in Manage My Care:

  • once a patient turns 16 they will automatically be removed from all accounts, but can be added again as an adult
  • the patient may no longer wish for you to see their information
  • you may no longer be eligible to see their information
  • there may be other circumstances which prevent the patient’s information from being viewed by anyone using Manage My Care.

If you are unsure why a patient has disappeared from your account, contact the Manage My Care support line on 1800 517 133 (Monday to Friday, 7.30am to 5.30pm).

How to remove a patient from your account?

If you no longer wish to see a patient’s information in Manage My Care, you can remove the patient from your account by contacting the Manage My Care support line on 1800 517 133 (Monday to Friday, 7.30am to 5.30pm).

How to remove myself from someone else’s Manage My Care account?

If you no longer wish for your Next of Kin to view your information through Manage My Care, you can remove yourself from their account at any time. If you have added yourself to your own Manage My Care account, you can remove yourself from your Next of Kin’s account by going to the Account page and unticking the box next to the individual’s name under Next of Kin. Alternatively, you can contact the Manage My Care support line on 1800 517 133 (Monday to Friday, 7.30am to 5.30pm).

If you no longer want this person to be your Next of Kin at all, they can be removed from your patient record by deleting their name under the Next of Kin menu on the Account page. Alternatively, call Outpatient Direct on 1300 855 275 (Monday-Friday, 7:30am-5:30pm) to update your Next of Kin information.

How do I deactivate or delete my account?

To deactivate your account, go to the Account page and select Deactivate My Account and follow the prompts. Once your account is deactivated you will no longer receive any notifications from Manage My Care. You can reactivate your account at any time by logging in using your previous login details.

To delete your Manage My Care account, go to the Account page, select Delete My Account and follow the prompts. Please note that accounts that are deleted cannot be reactivated. To use Manage My Care again, you will need to create a new account and add any patients to your account again.

If your Next of Kin has added you to their Manage My Care account, deactivating/deleting your own account will not stop your information from being visible to your Next of Kin. Deactivating/deleting your account will NOT affect your appointments or patient record in any way.

Where can I provide feedback about the app?

To provide feedback about Manage My Care, contact the team at ManageMyCare@health.wa.gov.au

Where to get help

Last reviewed: 01-06-2022